Hello,

I don’t usually do this so please indulge me on this one. As most of you may be aware I have dyslexia. I am lucky as I am on the lower end of the scale however I still struggle. Especially when I’m tired, when I have high pain levels (which is often with my medical conditions) and, most of all, when I’m under stress.

It is still not as well treated or recognised in the schools as it should be and though some are discovered early, others, like myself, were not diagnosed and identified until later on. Mine was identified when I was eighteen when I told my college tutor my mother was dyslexic. That was when the penny dropped so to speak for the education system.

Work does need to be done about helping others with this so that they don’t think they are stupid or thick and that they need to rapidly restructure and reassess the way they deal with it. I’ve found a list of celebs and famous people with dyslexia. Some of which might surprise you. I already knew about Tom Cruise, Albert Einstien and Richard Branson but I didn’t know about Jamie Oliver, James Martin Keira Knightly and so many other the other.

Dyslexia does not mean you are stupid or thick. Actually it is the opposite. With my Dyslexia my IQ is 132 however if I wasn’t dyslexic it would be 20 point higher. The average mark for IQ is 80-110 and if I was three points higher I would be at MENSA level yet I hate crosswords and Sudoku. I have no patience for them.

A person’s IQ changes throughout life and those with high IQ’s are not always socially graceful. Other people’s brilliance shows in other ways and you do not need to have an high IQ to be smart.

Just remember that if you are dyslexic you are not thick, you are not stupid and you have gifts that others may not have.

Writers that have had or had dyslexia are Agatha Christie, Hans Christian Anderson, Henry Winkler, Leonardo Da Vinci, Whoopie Goldberg and french author Gustave Flaubert to name but a few. So, yes you can be a writer even if you are dyslexic. There is nothing stoping you I did it and so can u.

Hope this has given you food for thought my fellow writers, thank you for indulging me.

Happy Writing

Simone

Comments
  1. Zenia Maywood says:

    Developmental reading disorder (DRD), or dyslexia, occurs when there is a problem in areas of the brain that help interpret language. It is not caused by vision problems. The disorder is a specific information processing problem. It does not interfere with one’s ability to think or to understand complex ideas. Most people with DRD have normal intelligence. Many have above-average intelligence.*

    Hottest content on our web blog
    <'http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/astragalus-benefits/

Leave a Reply

