Writing And Its Meaning

Posted: June 17, 2012 by Simone Young in Dyslexia, Information and advise, Interview
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Hello and happy fathers day.

Writing means different things to different people. No two writers will write the same story the same way. Thier style and flare will differ along with thier interpretation.

A perfect example is me and my better half. We are both writers and we love writing and we have several simular idea’s. A perfect example is our zombie relaged tales. His is based on the fight of one girl to stay alive while on her own and mine is about a family trying to stay together.

Same basic foundations, different spin.

Another is the simularities betwen Stephanie Meyer and Rebecca Hamilton and thier tales of vampires and shape shifters. Same basic idea, different result, completely different.

Some people see writing as a way of getting rich quick, and quite often fail, others see it as a passion or calling where they have to do it, they have to tell the stories. The third kind are those that write for a living, usually journalist, writers for tv, film and stage and finally serious bloggers. I fit into the second category. Each idea running through my head and at some stage demands to be written down. I have up to and possibly above twenty different tales I am trying to pen.

At least three are the beginnings of several book series. But as much as I moan about the sleepless night, as much as I winge out my brain never slowing I would belost without it.

Writing when I was younger was not as important, not as vital, school, friends, tv were more important and when I did write it was fan fiction baised on the shows I loved at the time.

I combined Xena and Hercules with Stargate. I melded X-files, Highlander, American Gothic to several other shows. I did an idea for Charmed to rip the whole idea and family apart. The idea’s are there, still, folders filled ith notes n drafts but i have other ideas that have taken over.

It all started at Christmas 2008 it was slow at the job I was working at the time and the restrictions were relaxed on what we could and coudn’t do. As I was in the corner I couldn’t be seen anyway. Once my work was done, the filing, the orders, the logistics stuff I, one day, opened a file and stared writing a random story. Within months it had taken on a life of it’s own. That is when “Twisted Coven” was born though it went by “Blakesmith Cataombs” at the time. My style is different but I take my cues fom three of the greats.

Stephen King, the best thriller and horror writer of our life time.

Patricia Cornwell, the author of murder mysteries staring the talented pathologist Kay Spargetta.

And last but not least Kathy Reichs, the creator of anthropologist Temperance Brennan, which has been made in to
A tv show named Bones.

Writing to me is my hobby, my job and my life. I enjoy working alone though sometimes I enjoy it when Pete n I work together on tales of the heroes vampires and his passion is contagious.

My huband to be is a writer, he writes super hero fiction and fan fiction(link his blog) and one of his larger fictions were are woking together. He has not be writing the amount of years I have but enjoys it, he is really good. I think i might have to talk him into a few classes.

We’re just trying to find ways of avoiding infringing on existing superhero and other fiction. Something I am also trying to do with several of my tales.

What does writing mean to you?
Who do you write for?
What is your ultimate goal?

I m in the process of doing a collection of tales, prose and poems, and printing it at my voulentiering job. Would you be interested in a competition to see who wins a copy? If so what would you like to see in it? A short tale and the winner wins a copy in which the tale is printed.

Also would you like teenage visions to make a return?

Answers in the commcents below and follow to keep up to date on my many idea’s and competitions I am going run.

Happy writing

Simone

Comments
  1. Joe says:

    Hi Simone,

    What is your hubby’s blog link? I fancy myself as a bit of a super hero…I owuld have the power of hindsight!!

    Thansk
    Joe

Leave a Reply

