Silence

Posted: July 1, 2015 by Simone Young in Agents and publishers, Current and Active Works, Late Night Work
Tags: , , , ,

Hello Reader,

Were in the middle of a heat wave here in the UK. That’s one of the reasons why I’m working at 2:41 in the morning when it’s a little cooler. but i have a poem for you. I hope you like it.

Silence

It was silent

No noise

No sound

Nothing could be heard

Not the tic of the clock

Nor the hum of the fridge

I could see it working

I could see the lights

I could feel the hum

But I could hear nothing

I couldn’t understand it

I feared I was deaf

I went to speak but nothing came out

I didn’t even feel the words leave my mouth

I didn’t understand and what was going on

I began to panic

I searched for a reason

I panicked, shaking, fear filled

I looked around and saw him

I looked at him and froze

He had made the silence

I breathed as I stared at him

His motionless form ridged

His eyes filled with hate

His eyes fixed on me

He hands clenched at his side

I was petrified

Seconds later I woke up

Panting, gasping for air

I was alone and safe

I could hear my rapid breathing

I could hear the hum of my computer

I could hear crickets out side

He wasn’t there

He wasn’t real

He wasn’t around

The silence was gone

The silence was nothing but a dream

The silence wasn’t real

It was a dream

It was a bad dream

It was a nightmare

Let me know what you think.

Happy writing

Simone

Leave a Reply

