Evening everyone,

It’s Saturday and three days off my birthday, and I can’t wait. I am really looking forward to it and I have a little surprise in store but I’ll save that for the day but stay tuned.

Today I want to talk about allowing reality and real life events affect any story or book you want to share with anyone. Now this can be intentional or unintentional and providing there is no case for slander then, in most cases, it’s fine.

For example, in my next installment of Poisoned By Blood I have mentioned and had some involvement with a real admitted serial killer that has been dead for nearly thirty years. The  serial killer in question is one of the most notorious and vile of the subgroup within society. Because he is a person that was and that he confessed to his crimes I am not slandering his character so I wouldn’t be at risk of being sued by his family.

There are traditional media programs that also do this, a perfect example is the central character of Murdoch Mysteries, William Murdoch, is based on the real life Ontario Provisional Police John Wilson Murray.  There is also, Call the Midwife, Orange is the New Black, Band of Brothers, The Tudors, Boardwalk Empire, and The Secret, all based in some way on real events that have happened in the past. There have been movies based on serial killers, along with real serial killers influencing people to create memorable fictional killers that we all know and love.

There are times where it happens without people realizing that they have done it. I am quiet good at note doing this. The only time I’ve let a person I know influence a character is one of the characters in my latest release, the person I am basing the character on knows and is fully aware that I am doing it. The same lady is going to be on the cover and allowed me to use a few of her little quirk, only a few, have made it into the books but this was purposeful and I love the way that the book is looking and I can’t wait to share it with you, I really can’t.

So overall, you can use real people in your fictional books, if it is people that you know get permission before you go ahead, if it is someone who’s in the public eye such as a celebrity, serial killer, etc then it isn’t too bad. So many writers use actors to decide the physicality of a character but the behavior and such are built separately.

Have an awesome weekend.

Happy writing

Simone

 

 

Leave a Reply

